FREE SHIPPING ACROSS INDIA FOR ORDERS ABOVE RS.799

Iyengar Bakery Style Savoury Biscuits Recipe

Iyengar Bakery Style Savoury Biscuits

 

These classic Iyengar Bakery-style “Khaara” or savoury biscuits are very popular in Karnataka, and with good reason.

They’re a delicate mix of herby flavours and just the slightest hint of sweet for balance. This recipe uses ghee, which makes the cookies nutty and crisp.

Tip: Try using the cookie dough to make a pie crust!

Ingredients:

Method:


1. First, mix the dry ingredients together—the atta, maida, besan, salt, sugar, and baking powder.

2. Then, grind the cumin seeds, curry leaves, green chilies and coriander to a coarse paste without adding any water.

3. Now, add the ghee to the dry flour mix and use a fork or work it in until the mixture begins to look like breadcrumbs.

4. Next, add the green herb paste and yogurt.

5. Bind together using a little milk to get a stiff, slightly crumbly dough. It should just about come together.

6. Pinch off 4-5 equal balls of the dough. Roll each one out to about ¼ inch thickness. Use cookie cutters or katoris to cut out cookie shapes.

7. Place the cookies on a baking sheet, slightly apart. Prick each cookie with a fork to avoid puffing during baking.

8. Bake in a preheated oven at 175 degrees centigrade for 10-12 minutes or until a pale pink-brown in colour.

9. Do not worry if they seem soft even when you remove them from the oven; they will firm up as the cool.

10. Store in an airtight box up to a week.

     

    Shop Now - 

    Whole Wheat Flour (Gehun ka Atta) - https://www.consciousfood.com/collections/flours/products/wheat-flour

    All Purpose Flour (Maida) - https://www.consciousfood.com/collections/flours/products/maida-all-purpose-flour

    Chickpea Flour (Besan) - https://www.consciousfood.com/collections/flours/products/bengal-gram-flour-chana-atta

    Rock Salt - https://www.consciousfood.com/products/rock-salt

    Raw Sugar - https://www.consciousfood.com/products/raw-sugar

    Cumin Seeds - https://www.consciousfood.com/products/cumin-seeds-jeera

    Gir Cow Ghee - https://www.consciousfood.com/products/gir-cow-ghee

    Leave a comment

    Please note, comments must be approved before they are published